Albuquerque (New Mexico)

Here is general information about Albuquerque in New Mexico

Albuquerque statistic

Coordinates 35°06′39″N 106°36′36″W
Country United States
State New Mexico
County Bernalillo
Founded 1706 (as Alburquerque)
Incorporated 1891 (as Albuquerque)
Founded by Francisco Cuervo y Valdés
Named for Francisco Fernández de la Cueva, Duke of Alburquerque
Elevation 5,312 ft (1,619.1 m)
Demonyms Albuquerquean, Burqueño
Time zone UTC−7 (MST)
ZIP Codes 87101–87125, 87131, 87151, 87153, 87154, 87158, 87174, 87176, 87181, 87184, 87185, 87187, 87190–87199
Area codes 505
FIPS code 35-02000
GNIS feature ID 928679
Primary Airport Albuquerque International Sunport ABQ (Major/International)
Secondary Airport Double Eagle II Airport- KAEG (Public)
Government (Type) Mayor-council government
Government (Mayor) Tim Keller (D)
Government (City Council) Councilors 5 Democrats, 4 RepublicansLouie Sánchez (D)Tammy Fiebelkorn (D)Isaac Benton (D)Dan Lewis (R)Brooke Bassan (R)Pat Davis (D)Klarissa J. Peña (D)Trudy Jones (R)Renee Grout (R)
Government (State House) Representatives 13 Democrats, 11 RepublicansG. Andres Romero (D)Javier Martínez (D)Patricio Ruiloba (D)Eleanor Chavez (D)Patricia Roybal Caballero (D)Miguel Garcia (D)Sarah Maestas Barnes (R)Antonio Maestas (D)Deborah Armstrong (D)Gail Chasey (D)Sheryl M. Williams-Stapleton (D)Jim Dines (R)Stephanie Maez (D)James Smith (R)Paul Pacheco (R)Conrad James (R)Christine Trujillo (D)Georgene Louis (D)Larry Larranaga (R)Jimmie C. Hall (R)David Adkins (R)Nathaniel Gentry (R)William Rehm (R)Monica Youngblood (R)
Government (State Senate) State senators 7 Republicans, 6 DemocratsJohn Ryan (R)Linda Lopez (D)Jerry Ortiz y Pino (D)Dede Feldman (D)Eric Griego (D)H. Diane Snyder (R)Cisco McSorley (D)Mark Boitano (R)Sue Wilson Beffort (R)William H. Payne (R)Kent L. Cravens (R)Joseph J. Carraro (R)Bernadette Sanchez (D)
Government (U.S. House) Melanie Stansbury (D) Yvette Herrell (R)
Government (City) 188.87 sq mi (489.17 km2)
Government (Land) 187.19 sq mi (484.81 km2)
Government (Water) 1.68 sq mi (4.36 km2)
Area (City) 188.87 sq mi (489.17 km2)
Area (Land) 187.19 sq mi (484.81 km2)
Area (Water) 1.68 sq mi (4.36 km2)
Population (2020) (City) 564,559
Population (2020) (Rank) 32nd in the United States 1st in New Mexico
Population (2020) (Density) 3,015.97/sq mi (1,164.50/km2)
Population (2020) (Metro) 916,528 (61st)

Time difference between Albuquerque and other cities

Albuquerque (/ˈælbəˌkɜːrki/ (listen)AL-bə-kur-kee; Spanish: [alβuˈkeɾke]),[a] abbreviated as ABQ, is the most populous city in the U.S. state of New Mexico. Its nicknames, The Duke City and Burque, both reference its 1706 founding by Nuevo México governor Francisco Cuervo y Valdés as La Villa de Alburquerque. Named in honor of the Viceroy of New Spain, the 10th Duke of Alburquerque, the city was an outpost on El Camino Real linking Mexico City to the northernmost territories of New Spain. The 2020 census found the population of the city to be 564,559, making Albuquerque the 32nd-most populous city in the United States and the fourth-largest in the Southwest. It is the principal city of the Albuquerque metropolitan area, which had 916,528 residents as of July 2020, and it is part of the Albuquerque–Santa Fe–Las Vegas combined statistical area which had a population of 1,162,523 as of January 2020. Located in the Albuquerque Basin, the city is flanked by the Sandia Mountains to the east and the West Mesa to the west, with the Rio Grande and bosque flowing from north-to-south. The city is a hub for technology and media companies, historic landmarks, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta, Gathering of Nations, New Mexico State Fair, also a diverse restaurant scene including New Mexican cuisine.

Albuquerque photos